Zpz Roxy Contest Poster 04

Zappa Plays Zappa, the Grammy(R) winning group that has made and recreated history performing the music of Frank Zappa, is set to embark on an epic musical trek across the US, Canada and Europe celebrating the classic Frank Zappa album Roxy & Elsewhere. In celebration of the 40th anniversary of that pivotal Zappa fan favorite, the entirety of its repertoire -- including the provocative rhythms of "Don't You Ever Wash That Thing?" "Echidna's Arf (Of You)" and Be -Bop Tango (of the Old Jazzmen's Church)"* will be performed live on stage.


Since 2006 Dweezil Zappa has led his highly acclaimed group through more than 500 world wide performances and over 275 compositions spanning the breadth of his father's deep catalog. "I think my father's music deserves the chance to be discovered by a contemporary audience. His creativity and discipline is inspirational. Since generation X has apparently evolved beyond generation Y, perhaps we've reached generation Z. I think this is an appropriate time and place to inherit and adopt Frank Zappa as the musical figure head for Generation Z. Many facets of his music are bold and unconventional and it feels to me like it's from the future. Generation Z should be bold and unconventional"

Beginning this September, Zappa Plays Zappa will hit the road premiering songs that have not been performed on previous tours and cutting its teeth on additional surprise material. "The Roxy album has always been one of my favorites and I'm excited to play it top to bottom. It has a great balance of musical styles and showcases some of the funkiest grooves and most devilishly frenetic instrumental passages my father ever composed."

Navigating the musical twists and turns of the Roxy & Elsewhere album on stage isn't the only attraction on offer for the upcoming tour. As a bonus to the tour, a 90 minute personalized guitar instruction session from Dweezil's annual musical bootcamp, Dweezilla, will be offered as a separate ticket in the afternoon before sound check in every city. Players of all skill levels are welcome to attend. "I really enjoy sharing musical ideas and improvisational strategies with people. In these classes we discuss technique and application as our main topics. People will also get a chance to have a close up look at the newly released Frank Zappa Roxy SG made by Gibson Guitars," notes Zappa.

Certain to be among the tour's highlights are performances at iconic venues that resonate with Zappa history. Honoring the long-standing New York City-Zappa tradition, a special concert event is taking place on Halloween night at the famed Beacon Theater.

Auspiciously paying homage to Roxy & Elsewhere, Dweezil and his bandmates will perform at the Roxy Theatre in Hollywood exactly 40 years, to the day, of the original series of concerts that yielded the album of that title.


Tue 9/3/13     Providence,RI                       Lupo's

Wed 9/4/13     Pittsburgh, PA                       Carnegie Music Hall

Thu 9/5/13     Columbus, OH                       LC Pavilion

Fri 9/6/13     Iowa City, IA                       Englert Theater

Sat 9/7/13     Urbana, IL                               Krannert PAC/ Ellnora Guitar Festival

Sun 9/8/13     Milwaukee, WI                       Pabst Theater

Tue 10/8/13   Lincoln, NE                       Rococo Theatre

Wed 10/9/13   Eau Clair, WI                       State Theatre

Thu 10/10/13 Chicago, IL                       Copernicus Center

Fri 10/11/13 Indianapolis, IN                       The Vogue

Sat 10/12/13 Grand Rapids, MI                   The Intersection

Sun 10/13/13 Kent, OH                               Kent Stage

Wed 10/16/13 Philadelphia, PA                     Keswick Theatre

Thu 10/17/13 Buffalo, NY                       Klienhans Music Hall

Fri 10/18/13 Royal Oak, MI                        Royal Oak Music Theatre

Sat 10/19/13 Toronto, ON                       Queen Elizabeth Theatre

Sun 10/20/13 Ottawa, ON                       Algonquin Commons Theatre

Tue 10/22/13 Laval, QC                               Salle Andre' Matie

Wed 10/23/13 Sherbrooke, QC                     Theatre Granda

Thu 10/24/13 Saint Hyacinthe,QC                Centre de Arts Juliette-Lassonde

Fri 10/25/13 Saint Jean sur Richelieu, QC  Theatre des Deux Rives

Sat 10/26/13 L'Assomption, QC               Theatre Hector Charland

Sun 10/27/13 Quebec City, QC                Imperial Theatre

Mon 10/28/13 Rimouski, QC                        Salle Desjardins-Telus

Thu 10/31/13 New York, NY                        Beacon Theater

Fri 11/1/13   Portland, ME                        State Theater

Sat 11/2/13   Boston, MA                        House Of Blues

Sun 11/3/13   Ridgefield, CT                        Ridgefield Playhouse

Sun 12/8/13   Los Angeles, CA                The Roxy

Mon 12/9/13   Los Angeles, CA                The Roxy

Tue 12/10/13 Los Angeles, CA                The Roxy


*Full track listing of Roxy & Elsewhere to be performed on Zappa Plays Zappa Tour


Penguin In Bondage

Pygmy Twylyte

Dummy Up

Village of the Sun

Echidna's Art (Of You)

Don't You Ever Was That Thing?


Son of Orange County

More Trouble Every Day

Be-Bop Tango (of the Old Jazzmen's Church)